Departments Mathematical Sciences

Mathematical Sciences


Leading the mathematical science in the future Train mathematicians, Contributing to research and industrial development
Department of Mathematical Sciences

 Visit homepage

Educational Goals

The Department of Mathematical Sciences was founded in 1982, offering a a graduate program in mathematics. A separate department in charge of the undergraduate program was established three years later in Daejeon. In 1990, the two departments merged into the Department of Mathematics, which was renamed as the Department of Mathematical Sciences in 2007.
The department aims to nurture mathematical talents, so as to make significant contributions to advancements in research and related industries. It maintains the highest standards in education and research, and promotes interdisciplinary research with various fields such as natural sciences, engineering, and economics. In addition, research synergy is maximized through active exchange with world-class universities, research institutes, and businesses at home and abroad.

Research Areas

  • Geometry
  • Analysis and Applied Mathematics
  • Topology
  • Algebra and Number Theory
  • Computational Mathematics and Scientific Computing
  • Combinatorics
  • Information Security
  • Financial Mathematics
  • Probability and Statistics